2023 AEMA-ARRA-ISSA Annual Meeting had Record-Breaking Attendance

The Asphalt Emulsion Manufacturers Association (AEMA), Asphalt Recycling & Reclaiming Association (ARRA), and International Slurry Surfacing Association (ISSA), came together for the 20th time for the 2023 AEMA-ARRA-ISSA Annual Meeting in Litchfield Park, Arizona, February 27- March 3. With nearly 380 pre-registered attendees, this Annual Meeting was one for the record books.

Program Chairs Dan Koeninger, AEMA, Jason Wielinski, ARRA, and Brad Pearce, ISSA, spent months planning and keeping the future of the industry at the forefront of the meeting. During the opening General Session Wednesday, the Annual Meeting started with futurist Michael Rodgers as the keynote speaker. The General Session also included Richard Willis, NAPA, presenting on workforce development in our industry; FP2 President Mark Ishee, Ergon Asphalt & Emulsions, providing an update on the initiatives FP2 is working on; and Bill Scheibel, RockSol Consulting, giving attendees insight on Colorado DOT’s sustainability efforts. Additionally, attendees heard from a panel of industry experts on various topics that our industry should be aware of. Panelists included, Willis, Ishee, Bouzid Choubane, NCPP, Pete Grass, AI, Buzz Powell, NCAT, Bob Huitt, AEMA, Kimbel Stokes, ARRA, and Chuck Ingram, ISSA.

Wednesday afternoon, AEMA held their Technical Session. Attendees heard from Amy Blaida, Ergon Asphalt & Emulsions, and Aaron Walker, Ingevity, on asphalt emulsions milestones. They then heard from Aaron Roy, Nouryon, on cationic emulsion. The University of Arkansas’ Dr. Andrew Braham provided attendees with information on student research and specs. Lastly, Trevor Distin, COLAS, talked about techniques used to preserve the surface road network in Australia.

On Thursday morning, the Awards & Recognition Breakfast took place. During this time, incoming and retiring board members of AEMA, ARRA, and ISSA were recognized. AEMA, ARRA, and ISSA also awarded various winners for their respective awards.

ISSA’s Technical Session was held Thursday morning. The session started with Buzz Powell providing significant findings, implementation efforts and future research plans that NCAT is doing. Following up was the 2023 ISSA President’s Award for Excellence Award, VSS International with Matt Ferguson sharing their Grand Canyon National Park Project. Braham then shared information on ISSA’s new Classroom Module that will be available to colleges and universities. Lastly, attendees heard from two local cities on their pavement maintenance program. First they heard from Ryan Stevens, City of Phoenix, followed by Gustavo Garcia with the City of Surprise.

The last Technical Session was hosted by ARRA on Thursday afternoon. Nye McCarty, AzDOT, and Matt Manthey, City of Mesa, started the session off by talking about CIR and CCPR in the City of Mesa. Next, Jenna Bowers, Ingevity, discussed CIR short term curing. Heritage Research Group’s Kierstin Janik further discussed workforce development. Lastly, Dr. David Jones of the University of California Davis provided a high-level overview of recently completed research on shrinkage-crack mitigation on full depth recycling with cement projects.

AEMA also celebrated their 50th Anniversary with a Past President Mike O’Leary, AEMA President Bob Huitt, AEMA Vice President Dan Koeninger, and Board Member Scott Dmytrow, taking a walk down memory lane. They put together a slide show of pictures and historical AEMA moments. AEMA members toasted to 50 years, and the next 50 years.

The 2023 AEMA-ARRA-ISSA Annual Meeting could not have been possible without our generous sponsors. They included:

·         Green Sponsors

o   Caterpillar

o   Wirtgen

·         Silver Sponsors

o   Ergon Asphalt & Emulsions, Inc.

o   Ingevity

o   Russell Standard

o   UltraPave

·         Keynote Sponsors:

o   Caterpillar

o   Nouryon

·         Lanyard Sponsor

o   Superior Tire & Rubber

·         Mobile App Sponsor

o   Stepan

·         WIFI Sponsor

o   Rock Solid Stabilization & Reclamation

·         Videographer Sponsors

o   Asphalt Materials, Inc.

o   Dalworth Machine Products

·         Bronze Sponsors

o   Albina Asphalt

o   Astec Industries

o   BASF

o   Bergkamp Inc

o   BLS Enterprises, Inc.



o   Global Emissionairy

o   Sollami Company

o   Vance Brothers

o   VSS Macropaver

o   Walker Industries

·         Golf Luncheon Sponsors

o   BASF

o   Western Emulsions

·         Golf Beverage Cart Sponsors

o   Albina Asphalt

o   BASF

·         Golf Contest Hole Sponsor

o   Terry Asphalt Materials, Inc.

Mark your calendars for the 2024 AEMA-ARRA-ISSA Annual Meeting, February 19-23, in sunny Palm Harbor, Florida!